Dover, DE City Council Committee of the Whole Votes Unanimously to Advance 18-Month Data Center Moratorium; Full Council Vote Expected October
Opening paragraph
On Tuesday, August 11, 2026, Dover, Delaware’s City Council Committee of the Whole voted unanimously — during a four-hour meeting whose agenda also covered building safety codes and opioid-settlement funds — to advance an ordinance proposing an 18-month moratorium on new data center approvals citywide. This is a committee-stage procedural vote to send the measure to full council, not an adopted moratorium: Councilwoman Donyale Hall, the ordinance’s sponsor, told Spotlight Delaware she plans to introduce a finalized version to the full City Council by September 2026, with Councilman David Anderson telling Delaware Public Media he expects a council vote around October.
What Happened / Key Facts
- Instrument: a single proposed ordinance establishing an 18-month pause on the “acceptance, processing, review, approval and issuance of permits” for new data centers, citywide, within Dover city limits. During the pause the city would conduct a “comprehensive review” of impacts on electrical infrastructure, water, and other utilities before adopting a permanent policy.
- Status: PROPOSED, advanced out of committee. Not adopted, not effective. The two contemporaneous tier-1 reports (Delaware Public Media, Spotlight Delaware) agree the Committee of the Whole vote was unanimous to send the measure forward, though neither reports an exact tally (committee size not stated in either source). No ordinance number has been assigned as of the sourcing date; Hall was still “refining language” per city-staff feedback at the time of the vote.
- Sponsor: Councilwoman Donyale Hall presented the proposal to committee. Councilman David Anderson also spoke to it in Delaware Public Media’s coverage but is not named as sponsor in either source — Spotlight Delaware names Hall as the one who “presented the idea to the committee.” City Council President Fred Neil and Dover’s electric director Paul Waddell both spoke at the meeting; Waddell said the city needs a fuller study of impacts on electrical infrastructure before a permanent policy.
- Grandfather/carveout clause: none reported in either source. Both articles describe the pause as applying to new applications; neither mentions an exemption for pending projects. Hall and Waddell said the city has “already been approached about at least one small-to-medium-sized data center project” (Delaware Public Media reports Anderson said “at least two entities” had inquired) but both declined to name the entity or entities, so it is not possible to determine from public reporting whether any pending application would be grandfathered.
- Grandfather rush: no permit data was located for Dover specifically (unlike Fort Worth’s ArcGIS permit dataset, used in the parallel Texas research this task inherits method from). Given the ordinance is not yet adopted and carries no confirmed effective date, a “rush before the deadline” test does not yet apply — there is no deadline yet, only an anticipated October full-council vote. This is a gap, not a negative finding; if Dover publishes a permit dataset, apply the Fort Worth method against any October effective date once set.
- Local rationale (rate context): Anderson linked the proposed freeze to Dover’s own recent residential electric rate increase, passed earlier in 2026 to cover a $7 million budget deficit, which “faced public opposition.” He said explicitly: “We have commitments and limited resources, and we need to plan so that our rate payers aren’t stuck with a huge bill for somebody else’s work.”
- State-law context cited by sponsors: both officials tied the pause to pending state legislation — House Bill 445, which would require large energy users including data centers to supply their own power generation in some form (“bring your own generation”). Anderson said he wants to see HB 445’s effects before Dover considers data centers at the city level.
- Local reception: Spotlight Delaware reports the proposal was “a rare moment of unity between the city government and members of the public” at the meeting. Resident Bill Faust supported the pause to avoid “another monster” of overloaded electricity/water systems. Linda Parkowski, executive director of the Kent Economic Partnership (a business-development group), voiced the opposing note in the room — not opposing the pause outright but warning the city to move faster than the full 18-month window, saying: “We don’t want to send a signal out that we’re not open for business, and that could be how this is interpreted.”
Delaware state-level context
Delaware’s legislature passed three linked energy bills on the final day of its 2026 session (per Delaware Public Media, 2026-07-01, quoting Senate sponsor Stephanie Hansen): HB 445 (“bring your own generation” — requires large-load energy users to source their own power); HB 233 (routes large energy users through the state Public Service Commission for approval); and a third bill barring new large-load users from state tax incentives. These bills exempt existing large energy users such as the Delaware City Refinery. This is a state PSC-approval-plus-self-generation mechanism — distinct in shape from the five state cost-allocation instruments the corpus has mapped elsewhere (Louisiana SPV opacity, Michigan ex parte special contract, New Jersey legislative mandate, Pennsylvania tariff-class litigation, New York executive-order-plus-tax): Delaware pairs a generation-sourcing mandate with PSC gatekeeping, rather than allocating an existing utility’s costs after the fact. Separately, Governor Matt Meyer signed further data-center cost/energy legislation on August 26, 2026 (per WHYY, NBC10 Philadelphia, and CleanTechnica headlines; full bill text and mechanism not independently verified in this pass — see Research Gaps). Whether that signature covers HB 445/HB 233 directly, or is additional legislation, was not confirmed from primary text in this pass.
Dover’s own moratorium proposal does not depend on or reference state preemption; it is straightforward municipal zoning/permitting authority, run in parallel with (not blocked or enabled by) the state PSC track.
Delaware’s wider county/municipal pattern
Dover’s committee vote is the third distinct Delaware sub-state data-center action within four weeks, and the first in an incorporated municipality rather than a county:
- Kent County Levy Court, July 21, 2026 — permanent zoning ordinance (300-foot residential setbacks, closed-loop cooling, natural screening), industrial zones only. See 2026-07-21–kent-county-de-first-data-center-ordinance. Kent County’s rules do not apply within Dover or any other incorporated municipality in the county (Dover is the Kent County seat but a legally distinct municipal actor).
- New Castle County passed its own data-center siting ordinance 12-0 on March 10, 2026 — chronologically the first of the three Delaware sub-state actions, not concurrent with Dover’s. See 2026-03-10–new-castle-county-de-data-center-siting-ordinance, which also tests Spotlight Delaware’s “similar to Kent County’s” framing directly against both ordinances’ terms: it holds at the level of shared subject matter (county-level siting/buffer/cooling standards confined to unincorporated territory) but not at the level of specific numeric standards. That entry also names the “controversial data center project” this entry’s sources left unnamed: Starwood Digital Ventures’ “Project Washington,” near Delaware City, which New Castle’s council exempted from its own new ordinance via a same-night floor amendment.
- Dover City Council Committee of the Whole, August 11, 2026 — this entry: a proposed 18-month moratorium, committee-advanced only.
A fourth, separate Kent County-area action — Harrington, DE, an incorporated municipality within Kent County — denied (rather than passed) a data-center-enabling ordinance on August 17, 2026 (the council vote date; press accounts ran Aug 18-19), unanimously rejecting Ordinance 25-08 (adding data centers as a conditional use in the Manufacturing zone) despite a developer’s $1M community-benefits offer. See 2026-08-17–harrington-de-city-council-denies-data-center-conditional-use-ordinance for the full write-up, sourced to the city’s own agenda packet plus WBOC and Spotlight Delaware reporting.
Why This Event Matters
Dover fits the corpus’s now-standard finding for the August wave: convergent, not coordinated, response to the same underlying pressure (rate-cost exposure, water/power capacity, and the absence of settled state rules) rather than evidence of a shared script. Delaware in particular shows the pattern compressed into a single county in under a month — a county-level permanent ordinance, a state legislative package, a city-level moratorium proposal, and a second municipality’s outright denial — with no evidence any of them coordinated language or timing with each other. Per the established discipline for this wave, no text-overlap claim is made here because no second jurisdiction’s ordinance text was available to compare against Dover’s (the ordinance itself does not yet exist in final form; Hall was still drafting language as of the sourcing date).
Research Gaps
- No ordinance number or ordinance text exists yet — Hall had not finalized language as of Aug 13 reporting. Track for the anticipated September introduction / October full-council vote and write a follow-on entry once adopted (status will change from PROPOSED to ADOPTED or the vote will fail).
- Exact committee vote tally not reported by either source (both describe it as “unanimous” without a number).
- The name(s) of the “at least one” (Spotlight Delaware) or “at least two” (Delaware Public Media) entities that approached the city about data center projects — both sources report city officials declined to disclose them. Do not name any entity not in the source text.
- New Castle County’s spring 2026 data-center siting ordinance — now written up at 2026-03-10–new-castle-county-de-data-center-siting-ordinance; vote confirmed as March 10, 2026 (not “earlier this spring” vaguely, and not concurrent with Dover’s August action) via Delaware Public Media’s contemporaneous report.
- Harrington, DE’s denial of a data-center-enabling ordinance — now written up at 2026-08-17–harrington-de-city-council-denies-data-center-conditional-use-ordinance; vote date confirmed as August 17, 2026 (not Aug 18 as this entry originally flagged) via the city’s own CivicWeb agenda packet.
- Governor Meyer’s August 26, 2026 signature on data-center cost/energy legislation — headline-level only in this pass (WHYY, NBC10, CleanTechnica); primary bill text and mechanism (does it cover HB 445/HB 233, or add new terms) not verified.
- No Dover-specific permit dataset was located to test for a grandfather-rush filing pattern; revisit once/if the city publishes one, and once an effective date exists to test against.
Related Entries
- 2026-07-21–kent-county-de-first-data-center-ordinance
- 2026-03-10–new-castle-county-de-data-center-siting-ordinance
- 2026-08-13–fort-worth-louisville-consecutive-datacenter-moratorium-votes
- 2026-08-11–walker-county-ga-datacenter-moratorium-180-days-study-committee
- 2026-08-17–harrington-de-city-council-denies-data-center-conditional-use-ordinance
- synthesis-august-datacenter-moratorium-wave-2026-08-27
Sources & Citations
The Cascade Ledger. “Dover, DE City Council Committee of the Whole Votes Unanimously to Advance 18-Month Data Center Moratorium; Full Council Vote Expected October.” The Capture Cascade Timeline, August 11, 2026. https://capturecascade.org/event/2026-08-11--dover-de-committee-advances-18-month-datacenter-moratorium/